Change Region:South Africa

ICEJ Tribute to Lance Lambert

A powerful voice for Israel

Printer-friendly versionSend by email
Posted on: 
11 May 2015 (All day)
ICEJ Tribute to Lance Lambert

The global leadership and family of the International Christian Embassy Jerusalem note with sorrow and profound respect the passing of our friend and fellow labourer in ministry, Lance Lambert. An accomplished and beloved Bible scholar and teacher, Lance will be missed by those of us who remain even as he is being received with great joy in his new heavenly home.

Lance Lambert passed away on Sunday (10 May) at age 84 in Jerusalem. He was one of the most distinguished Bible expositors of his generation, and one of its most adept leaders of intercessory prayer for Israel, the Middle East and the world.

Until recent years, Lance enjoyed a worldwide itinerate ministry. Born in 1931, Lance grew up in England and met the Lord at age 12. He entered the school of African and Oriental studies at London University to prepare for the Lord’s work in China. He studied Classical Chinese, Mandarin, Oriental Philosophy and Far Eastern History, but the revolution closed the door to his entry into China.

In the early 1950′s, Lance served in the British Royal Air Force in Egypt, where he learned many principles in intercessory prayer.  He later founded Halford House Christian Fellowship in Richmond, England.

Having discovered his Jewish ancestry, Lance became an Israeli citizen in 1980. His father and many members of his family had died in the Holocaust.

Lance was noted for his eschatological views, which placed him in the tradition of Watchman Nee and T. Austin-Sparks. He wrote numerous books on prayer and Israel, including The Uniqueness of Israel.

We had the privilege of engaging with Lance Lambert and benefitting from his rich teachings at the Feast of Tabernacles and other gatherings in Jerusalem and elsewhere. In fact, he was a key figure in the founding of the Christian Embassy at the very first Feast in 1980.

Lance was a man of great humility, faith and discernment, and a prophetic teacher of great insight and authority. We will always remember him as well for offering the fervent, effectual prayers of a righteous man, which assuredly availed much in God’s Kingdom.

The family of Lance Lambert have expressed to us their desire that any gifts in his honour from the ICEJ’s global following should be directed to projects to assist needy Holocaust survivors in Israel and to help Jews making Aliyah to Israel from distant lands. Thus, any donations should be made payable to the “ICEJ” with the notation: “Given in honour of Lance Lambert”.

With complete trust in the sure mercies of our Lord,

Dr. Jürgen Bühler
Executive Director
International Christian Embassy Jerusalem

 

Share this: